Workers' Compensation Legislation Introduced to the Iowa House

House Study Bill 169 was introduced in the Iowa House late afternoon on Monday, February 27, 2017.  The legislation, while not a complete overhaul of the Iowa Workers’ Compensation Act, proposes many significant and substantial changes.  The full text of the bill is available here.  An identical bill has been introduced in the Senate as of today, February 28, 2017.

Some proposed changes of particular interest may affect the intoxication defense; the commencement date for permanent disability; age limits on permanent total disability benefits; how shoulder injuries are defined (scheduled member versus body as a whole); interest calculations; credits for overpayments; successive disabilities; medical causation standard (predominant factor), among others.

The attorneys at Hopkins & Huebner P.C. are not involved in the drafting of or lobbying for this bill.  However, as this bill could significantly impact the business of our clients, we will continue to monitor this bill and provide updates as new information becomes available. 

The attorneys in our workers’ compensation practice group are available to answer questions about the bill.

Workers’ Compensation Defense

Maggie R. Boesen

(563) 445-2248

mboesen@hhlawpc.com

Anne L. Clark

(515) 697-4224

aclark@hhlawpc.com

E. J. Giovannetti

(515) 697-4236

ejgiovannetti@hhlawpc.com

Matthew A. Grotnes

(515) 697-4238

mgrotnes@hhlawpc.com

E. J. Kelly

(515) 697-4250

ejkelly@hhlawpc.com

Valerie A. Landis

(515) 697-4254

vlandis@hhlawpc.com

Jane V. Lorentzen

(515) 697-4258

jlorentzen@hhlawpc.com

Jeff M. Margolin

(515) 697-4260

jmargolin@hhlawpc.com

M. Anne McAtee

(563) 445-2242

amcatee@hhlawpc.com

Amanda R. Motto

(563) 445-2150

amotto@hhlawpc.com

Austin J. Mouw

(515) 697-4266

amouw@hhlawpc.com

Lara Q. Plaisance

(515) 697-4256

lplaisance@hhlawpc.com

View all News & Announcements

News